Dean photoAcademic Deans

Every Duke student has an academic dean. Academic deans support you by providing expert advice on university policy and helping you understand the requirements that structure undergraduate education in Trinity College.

Watch a short video on your advising network

Meeting with your academic dean

It is a good idea to meet your dean at least once in your first year, just to get to know her or him. You might even meet your dean in a different context: as a course instructor, prehealth advisor, graduate business school advisor or in some other capacity at Duke.

If you are experiencing academic difficulties, you should see your dean early so that s/he can offer you as many options as possible. Your dean may contact you and ask you to come in for a meeting. It is in your best interest to respond to communications from your dean and to make an appointment if requested. Your dean is in the best position to help you deal effectively with circumstances that are affecting your academic experience at Duke.

You can email, phone or schedule an appointment with your dean whenever you need to. Email works well for quick or immediate questions. All deans have times open for student appointments, so contact the staff assistant in your dean's office and explain that you'd like to meet with your dean and the staff assistant will set it up. 

Residence Hall Academic Dean
Alspaugh House

Donna Kostyu
116 Academic Advising Center
(919) 684-6217
ddkk@duke.edu

Bassett House

 

Gerald Wilson
04 Allen Building
919-684-2865
gerald.wilson@duke.edu

Blackwell House
Karen Murphy
011H Allen Building
919 684-2130
karen.murphy@duke.edu

Rachael Murphey-Brown
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
rachael.murphey-brown@duke.edu

Minna Ng
011E Allen Building
919-684-2130
minna.ng@duke.edu

 

Bell Tower House

Brown House (seniors)

John Blacksear
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
john.blackshear@duke.edu

Rachael Murphey-Brown
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
rachael.murphey-brown@duke.edu

Brown House

 

Sarah Russell
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
sarah.p.russell@duke.edu

East House

 

David Rabiner
113 Academic Advising Center
(919-684-6217
drabiner@duke.edu

 

Epworth House

Milton Blackmon
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
milton.blackmon@duke.edu

 

Gilbert-Addoms House

Karen Murphy
011H Allen Building
919-684-2130
karen.murphy@duke.edu

Minna Ng
011E Allen Building
919-684-2130
minna.ng@duke.edu

 

 

Giles House

Jenny Wood-Crowley
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
jenette.woodcrowley@duke.edu

Jarvis House

 

John Blackshear
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
john.blackshear@duke.edu

Pegram House

 

Sarah Russell
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
sarah.p.russell@duke.edu

Jesse Summers
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
jesse.summers@duke.edu

 

Randolph House

Milton Blackmon
011 Allen Building
919- 684-2130
milton.blackmon@duke.edu

Jesse Summers
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
jesse.summers@duke.edu

Jenny Wood-Crowley
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
jenette.woodcrowley@duke.edu

Southgate House

Alyssa Perz
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
akperz@duke.edu

Wilson House

Sabrina Thomas
011 Allen Building
919-684-2130
sabrina.thomas@duke.edu